powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Ask me about my blogspot thang - 2006-06-07

Jim Is Dead, Long Live Jim - 2006-05-04

More Creek Jumping, Going To New Orleans, And To B'ham - 2006-05-02

Finals And Cleaning Out The Ruined Pool - 2006-04-29

End Of The Semester, And A Rabbit Doesn't Make It - 2006-04-25

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-05-02 - 8:39 a.m.

I HAD A good time yesterday driving around to three local creeks with two students and collecting fish for various projects. It was a perfect spring day, 70s F and sunny, after two days of rain. Because of the rain the creeks were running high and fast, but not too badly. The goofy part of the trip was when one of my students looked up from the creek and saw her grandmother driving by, totally oblivious to our presence. I guess not everyone stares intently into creeks as they drive over them. . .

We've decided to go to New Orleans in mid-July for the Ichthyologists meeting. I'm moderating a session of the meeting on a Saturday morning at 8 a.m. as well as presenting my own paper, so we gotta go. I didn't know I was moderating until I looked up the conference schedule on line. I'd volunteered for it way back in February, but no one told me that I'd been listed. Rather than stay in the Sheraton New Orleans for $120 a night, we're staying at our favorite New Orleans hotel in the Quarter, the Villa Convento, in one of their smaller rooms for $59 a night. We'll keep you posted.

This afternoon we drive to B'ham with two rabbits to see Dr. Alvin. Before that I have to finish editing and copying my last final that I give tomorrow morning at 8. Everyone reading this is competent to describe the interlinkages between the mammalian cardiovascular and osmoregulatory systems, yes?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!